Things In My House That Don’t Make Sense…Volume II

After a year (plus) of living in this house, I was pretty sure I noticed everything bizarre that was lying around the house…

…boy was I wrong …

Let us begin with some questionable artwork…

I really don’t know how I missed the Donald Duck artwork on the wall…but when I noticed it, I practically died of laughter. I asked Non why this crazy picture was hanging in her foyer…she got it as a complimentary gift from the hotel we stayed at when we went to Disney 8 years ago…beneath this picture is the family picture of all of us going over splash mountain.

Beneath the photos and on top of the fish tank is the new guard dog/sunglasses holder…

According to Nonna this dog used to bark when it sensed motion…I’m obviously disappointed it is broken…

Just catercorner to the fish tank is a random bookshelf…which houses the following miniature landmarks:

(also notice the new home of the Aflac duck and random tassel…)

The bookshelf also is home to what I can only assume is a McDonald’s Happy Meal toy…

Just on the other side of the bookshelf is an interesting combination…

Yes…Nonna’s old walking cane from when she broke her hip…hanging next to my high school field hockey stick.  I questioned Nonna about the placement and her response was (shockingly) “In case one cane breakin I have another one…”

Moving along to the bookshelf on the other side of the room, we find Nonna’s beloved collection of “mugs”

While most grandparents would think of a college mug as an “afterthought” of a gift…Nonna treasures these as if they were 24ct gold pieces.  Whenever she has a new friend over, she brings them to the mug collection to brag about her grandchildren…(Lil Immo…make sure to bring crazy a new mug for christmas; Brimmo…you don’t need to bring a mug from Thailandy because most mugs are made there).

Next to the great shelf of mugs…

I really can’t tell you which one is creepier…but I do know both are at least from the 90’s…and I am pretty sure the dalmatian is yet another Happy Meal Toy. These “trinkets” probably went into Nonna’s custody about the same time I made this work of art in Wildwood, New Jersey…

Sandart…still preserved in fine condition. It is a feat that the individually colored sand stayed separated for at least 18 years…a feat only a Non could accomplish…kudos to careful care of sandart non…

But, by far, the best thing I found was this:

If you look very closely you can see the dates on the trophy: 1975 and 1974.

I questioned Nonna as to her reason for keeping these “participation trophies” and she smacked me over the head. “THESE IS MY KIDS…I CHERISH TIL THE DAY I DIE AND THEN YOU CAN TROW THEM OUT. BITCH”

Momentarily shocked…I turned around and laughed at her…then she said two words I have been hearing a lot lately.

“EFF-A YOU!”

Sheesh…If I knew she was so sensitive about her belongings I would have never made fun of her.  I threatened that my next blog was going to be a tour of her religious belongings and she informed me that if I took pictures of her saints she would curse me. Since I am pretty sure she and God are BFFs, that is one blog entry I will never write…

But, rest assure, I will be on the lookout for more odd things in Crazy’s house…

God, I love this woman.

Leave a Reply

