Day 273: I’m Beautiful, I’m Beautiful

Kudos to my life partner Danni for sending this my way and inspiring this blog post…

Like the little crazy above, Nonna has a belief: Every morning you need to wake up and say to yourself in the mirror “I’m beautiful, I’m beautiful.”  Nonna does this every morning, while rubbing her hair, her stomach, her butt, her boobs.  She literally loves every part of her body and tells herself this everyday. Sometimes, it gets uncomfortable because she tells me over breakfast how gorgeous she is:

Nonna: Don you think I am beautiful number one.

Me: Yes.

Nonna: So many people thinkin I am your mother. I look good.

Me: I know.

Nonna: My skin. My feet. You think?

Me: Yes.

Nonna: Even if I am a little on the chubby side, I no like skinny grandmothers.

Me: I know.

Nonna: The only thing I don like is this…(she pulls on the skin beneath her neck).. I gonna use something to fix on this?

Me: What do you mean?

Nonna: I wishin I could just sew it back.

Me: Like plastic surgery?

Nonna: No Like I do it myself with my sewing machine.

Me: Please don’t…

Nonna: One, Two, Three and everything is fixed.

Me: Uh are you serious.

Nonna: Everything else on me is beautiful….

Me: You are nuts.

Nonna: But beautiful.

Most days she forgets to take the modest bus, but on days where she is (by some odd chance) feeling “ugly” or not quite right…she says “damn I’m a beautiful boy…” The reasoning behind this modification: If  you are a good looking member of the opposite sex, its not so bad.

I encourage all of you to try these daily affirmations – mine as of late “only one more year of this…”

kidding!

Leave a Reply

