Day 231: Iron Chef Nonna

Secret Ingredient: Turkey Meatloaf and Mashed Potatoes.

About three weeks ago I made some turkey meatloaf for Nonna…as I have discussed before, Nonna can’t deal with me making anything she doesn’t know how to make.  So for the past three weeks Nonna has been “perfecting” her turkey meatloaf recipe.

Now, Nonna is one to never waste food…so there has been a lot of turkey meatloaf and homemade mashed potatoes around here. Most people would make a meatloaf sandwich with the leftovers, or perhaps warm it up for lunch the next day…not Nonna. Turkey Meatloaf has been popping up in the most surprising places:

1) In an egg white frittata.

2) In a quesodilla. With Cheddar Cheese.

3) With a cheesesteak IN a quesadilla.

4) With pesto pasta.

5) Transformed into a turkey meatloaf hamburger.

Finally, I had enough.  I needed to have an intervention.  I confronted Nonna about all this Turkey meatloaf…and why she was putting it in EVERYWHERE.

Me: Nonna, please stop using turkey meatloaf in all my meals.

Nonna: You the one who givin up red meat for lent.

Me: Yes, I know…but can’t i have chicken instead?

Nonna: So you no like my meatloaf?

Me: No its good…but come on….

Nonna: Wha you mean?

Me: You put turkey AND mashed potatoes in an EGG WHITE FRITTATA.

Nonna: It was delicious.

Me: No, It wasn’t.

Nonna: SO, I MAKIN YOU BREAKFAST, LUNCHIN, DINNER AND YOU SAY IT NO GOOD. IT WAS DELICIOUS. YOU IS UNGRATEFUL.

Me: No, I am very grateful…BUT NO MORE MEATLOAF.

Nonna: You makin it first.

Me: Ok, you are right. I will never make anything in this house again.

Nonna: Good idea.

With ideas like turkey meatloaf, mashed potato frittata..she might just beat Iron Chef Flay.

Leave a Reply

