Day 87: Esq.

IMG00036

You may have guessed it from the “Dear Esq” in the upper left hand corner of the sign…but I passed the NY bar! (Hooray!)

So the above is a picture of what I came home to today…I don’t know what’s better…the fact that its blocking the door to my room, the fact that there is a copy of my law school graduation picture in the bottom right hand corner, or the fact that Nonna spelled “Congratulation” correctly.

This was Nonna’s reaction when I told her I passed:

Nonna: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OH MY GOD! OH MY JESUS! OH MY GOD JESUS! JESUS MARY MOTHER OF JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I LOVE YOU GOD! I LOVE YOU JESUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (hysterically crying)

Me: Are you ok? you sound like you are being murdered?

Nonna: Oh honey I am so proud on you. You gonna be somebody. You a LAW-YER.

Me: Yes. I have to go to go back to work now. crazy.

Nonna: H-okay. I lovin you. Did you call your father?

Me: Duh.

Nonna: H-okay I callin him.

Later, when I returned home and saw the giant sign, I naturally called my sister.  My sister and I were very impressed at Nonna’s mastery of the English language, as demonstrated by her sign making skills.  This reminded us of one of our favorite Nonna stories…her educatione.

Nonna grew up in a very poor town in Sicily.  Back then, girls were only permitted to go to school until 5th grade.  But Nonna was special.  Once she had completed 5th grade once, she didn’t want to leave school.  But the only way she could continue school is if she went to the local city – which was “too expense.”  So Nonna’s momma – Nonna Nonna – spoke to the teacher, and got Nonna re-admitted to 5th grade…for two more years. Yes friends. Nonna went to the 5th grade three times. And she will not ever let you forget it. Nor will she let us forget she was the star pupil.  When I asked her if she was the star pupil because she had already learned the lessons two times before she spit at me. (I’ll admit that was obnoxious).

In Nonna’s words: “If I come on this country I would be somebody. Like a nurse or a nun. I would be a good nurse with the children. They love on me. But, I can do this because I went only to 5th grade. I go three times. But that no matter here. Three times I go on fifth grade. I am smart. Don you forget it.”

Man, she’s so cute I can’t stand it.

 

Leave a Reply

