Days 29-32: Anorexic?

Ok friends, I must apologize for my significant delay in blogging…work has been a little crazy. And so is Nonna.

So I was burning the midnight oil quite a bit this week…which apparently pains Nonna to no end.  As I worked in my room, she would come in pretty much every hour to check on me.  Each time she would come in, stand right next to me, pretend she was reading what I was doing, make the sign of the cross on my forehead and walk out crying.  She did this literally every single night this week.  When I would wake up in the morning, she would cry, tell me I look horrible and then offer me disgusting amounts of food.  Now, I don’t know if anyone else out there gets this way…but sometimes you are just too tired to eat.  Nonna does not understand this concept.  Now don’t get me wrong, I was definitely eating…I was just not in the mood for feasts.  So, on Wednesday, when I came home from work, she sat me down and asked me what I wanted to eat…I told her that I just wanted something little.  So I made myself a sandwich and a salad. She started hysterically crying and asked me: “it looka like you anorexic this week.”  I nearly spit out my food.  Where on earth does eating a sandwich and salad equal anorexia?! I looked at her and said…I’m not anorexic, I just don’t want to eat a big meal.  Still crying Nonna said “You gonna make more work for me…you no eat, you get too skinny and then you make-a me take in all you clothes.”  I looked at Nonna again and said “I’m not even responding to this.”  She went back upstairs and said…”I can’t wait until this over.”  I still don’t know what that means…

So on Thursday, I finished all my work (hooray!) AT WORK and got home around 8.  When I got home, I was ready to relax and chill…and admittedly, I was a little hungry.  So when I got home, Nonna started applauding (as I told her on the way home that I didn’t have any work to do) as I walked into the house.  I took a bow (naturally) and then she said “I gonna show you something.” Now, I get afraid when she says these words…usually it means she did something ridiculous like re-wire the electricity or replace a water pipe or move furniture.  So, I follow her to the kitchen…where no lie…this is what is on the table:  Baked Chicken Parm, Turkey Meatballs with whole wheat pasta, eggplant parm, salad, bread and…steamed broccoli.  I was like…what is this.  Nonna said “you gonna eat, and I gonna watch.”   So I sat down, and started eating the broccoli and salad (veggies first!) and Nonna starts crying.  She says, I make all this food and you eat only this.  I said…No, Nonna…I will get there, just let me eat my vegetables first.  So, I took a piece of chicken, a meatball, and some pasta.  Still not good enough for crying Nonna…”You gonna eat it.”  I said, “Can’t i save some for lunch tomorrow.”  Nonna suddenly smiled…”Oh honey, I so proud you eat again.”

So after dinner, I sat on the couch to watch Big Brother 11 (gotta feed my reality appetite) and Nonna sits down next to me, turns on her second tv and watches her telenovella on volume 60. I have the greatest life ever.

Leave a Reply

